Skip to main content

The 2022 Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards winners have been announced!

New Driver NI were delighted to sponsor the Secondary School category at the Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards during this year’s road safety week.

The Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards, now in their eighth year, are organised by Road Safe NI in conjunction with NI’s largest accident management company, CRASH Services.

NI’s road safety champions were officially recognised for their contribution to helping improve road safety in their communities. The winners at Northern Ireland’s Road Safety Awards 2022 included individuals, organisations, and special projects from across the voluntary, education, emergency service, public and business sectors.

A total of 12 awards were presented at a lunchtime event attended by more than 100 specially invited guests to the Cultra Manor, Holywood. Winning the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award was Constable Stuart Crutchley from PSNI Road Policing unit. He collected his award from Lynda Hurley from DFI and Frank Mitchell of U105.

Davy Jackson from Road Safe NI said “We had a fantastic response to the awards again, with a record number of entries. We are delighted to play our part in recognising those who go the extra mile to promote road safety.

The winning entries really stood out for their commitment over a long period of time and for delivering innovative projects. There is so much good work going on across our schools, local communities, emergency services and businesses.  The award winners are an inspiration to others, and they is no question their efforts are saving lives on the road.” he added.

Stephen Savage from New Driver NI commented, “New Driver NI are delighted to once again support this year’s Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards, which recognise the contribution of those who have worked to improve road safety in their communities.

Congratulations to all the deserving and inspiring award winners today, in particular the Secondary School category winner, Ashfield Boys High School Belfast.”

Category sponsors included: Drivetech (part of the AA Group), U105, New Driver NI, Hankook Tyres, Applegreen, JMK Solicitors, Riverridge, AB&C Insurance, Dept for Infrastructure and NI Road Safety Partnership.

2022 Northern Ireland Road Safety Awards winners

Primary School Category: St Francis P.S. Aghaderg Sponsored by Applegreen
Lollipop Person Category: Mr Peter McDevitt JohnPaul 11 P.S. U105
Secondary School Category: Ashfield Boys High School Belfast Sponsored by New Driver NI
Driving Instructor Category: Kim Colhoun  Sponsored by Drivetech
Emergency Services Category: W/ Comm MaryKate McKevitt NIFRS sponsored by Riverridge
Voluntary Sector Category: Families Bereaved through car crime Hankook Tyres
LGV Category: Simplicity Group Sponsored by Road Safe NI
Business Category: Adman Civil Projects Ltd Sponsored by JMK Solicitors
Public Sector: Transport Regulation Unit sponsored by NI Road Safety Partnership
Open Category: PWAS. N.I. Equestrian road safety awareness sponsored by CRASH Services
Young Driver Category: Hannah Kelly sponsored by AB&C Insurance
Lifetime Achievement: Constable Stuart Crutchley P.S.N.I  sponsored by DFI

Translate »